Healthy Communities: Australians' experiences with primary health care in 2010–11 - Report - About the Authority

Healthy Communities: Australians' experiences with primary health care in 2010–11

Download Report (PDF, 68.9 MB)

About the Authority

The National Health Performance Authority has been set up as an independent agency under the National Health Reform Act 2011. It commenced full operations in 2012.

Under the terms of the Act, the Authority will monitor, and report on, the performance of Local Hospital Networks, public and private hospitals, primary health care organisations and other bodies that provide health care services.

The Authority’s reports will give all Australians access to timely and impartial information that fairly compares their local health care organisations against their peers.

The reports will let people see, for the first time, how their local health care organisations measure up against comparable organisations across Australia.

The Authority’s activities are guided by a document called the Performance and Accountability Framework agreed by the Council of Australian Governments (COAG). The framework contains 48 indicators that will form the basis for the Authority’s performance reports.

The Authority’s role includes reporting on the performance of health care organisations against the 48 measures in order to identify both high-performing Local Hospital Networks, Medicare Locals and hospitals (so effective practices can be shared), and Local Hospital Networks and Medicare Locals that perform poorly (so that steps can be taken to address problems).

The Authority releases reports on a quarterly basis, and also publishes performance data on the MyHospitals website and on link, opens in a new window.[]

The Authority consists of a Chairman, a Deputy Chairman and five other members, appointed for up to five years. Members of the Authority are:

  • Ms Patricia Faulkner AO (Chairman)
  • Mr John Walsh AM (Deputy Chairman)
  • Dr David Filby PSM
  • Prof Michael Reid
  • Prof Bryant Stokes AM RFD
  • Prof Paul Torzillo AM
  • Prof Claire Jackson (acting member).

The conclusions in this report are those of the Authority. No official endorsement from any Minister, department of health or health care organisation is intended or should be inferred.

Download Report (PDF, 68.9 MB)