Healthy Communities: Avoidable deaths and life expectancies in 2009–2011 - Report - About the authority

Healthy Communities: Avoidable deaths and life expectancies in 2009–2011

Download Report (PDF, 18.1 MB)

About the authority

The National Health Performance Authority has been set up as an independent agency under the National Health Reform Act 2011. It commenced full operations in 2012.

Under the terms of the Act, the Authority monitors and reports on the performance of Local Hospital Networks, public and private hospitals, primary health care organisations and other bodies that provide health care services.

The Authority’s reports give all Australians access to timely and impartial information that allows them to compare fairly their local health care organisations against other similar organisations and against national standards.

The reports let people see, often for the first time, how their local health care organisations measure up against comparable organisations across Australia.

The Authority’s activities are also guided by a document known as the Performance and Accountability Framework agreed by the Council of Australian Governments. The framework contains 48 indicators that form the basis for the Authority’s performance reports.

The Authority’s role will include reporting on the performance of health care organisations against the 48 indicators in order to identify both high performing Local Hospital Networks, Medicare Locals and hospitals (so effective practices can be shared), and Local Hospital Networks and Medicare Locals that perform poorly (so that steps can be taken to address problems).

The Authority releases reports on a quarterly basis, and also publishes performance data on the MyHospitals website ( link, opens in a new window.) and on the MyHealthyCommunities website (

The Authority consists of a Chairman, a Deputy Chairman and five other members, appointed for up to five years. Members of the Authority are:

  • Ms Patricia Faulkner AO (Chairman)
  • Mr John Walsh AM (Deputy Chairman)
  • Dr David Filby PSM
  • Prof Michael Reid
  • Prof Bryant Stokes AM RFD (on leave)
  • Prof Paul Torzillo AM
  • Prof Claire Jackson.

The conclusions in this report are those of the Authority. No official endorsement from any Minister, department of health or health care organisation is intended or should be inferred.

Download Report (PDF, 18.1 MB)